What are the five areas of learning in Montessori Schools?

What are the five areas of learning in Montessori Schools?

Feb 01, 2023

When you think about a Montessori school, you probably imagine kids playing with blocks and imagining themselves as architects. While that is one part of the Montessori method, it’s not all there is to it. Five areas of learning in Montessori schools play an important role in your child’s education. It is important to learn these areas of learning before choosing a Montessori school near you.

How are Montessori Schools Different?

Montessori schools are different in their approach to education as they focus on the child’s development and learning, not on testing or grades.

Montessori schools are about creating a community where children discover who they are as individuals. It fosters an environment of creativity, freedom of expression, and acceptance of others’ differences—all while respecting our natural gifts as human beings: empathy, compassion, and cooperation.

What do Montessori Schools Believe?

Montessori schools believe that children are naturally curious and want to learn, and it’s a natural process that begins at birth. Children can absorb knowledge, make connections between ideas, and solve problems without being told what to do or how. Montessori schools believe that if we give children freedom of choice in their environment (free play time), Montessori schools also believe that every child is unique and has a special gift to offer. They also believe in developing the whole child: mind, body, and spirit. This means that children are encouraged to use their hands, be curious about the world around them, and explore nature through play.

What is the Montessori Method of Teaching?

Children are naturally curious and should be given opportunities to explore the world around them. In this way, they can develop their curiosity into healthy learning habits.

The Montessori method emphasizes developing the whole child by focusing on how they learn instead of just teaching them what they need to know. A big part of this is providing a safe environment where children can learn at their own pace without being pressured by other students, teachers (or even parents!). It also means giving students plenty of time for creative exploration and playtime so that when it comes time for lessons or homework, kids aren’t already tired from running around all day.

What Are the Five Areas of Learning?

The Montessori schools focus on five areas, that include:

  1. Practical Life

    Practical life is all about helping children learn to care for themselves, others, and the environment by giving them hands-on experiences with tools that are real-world applications, such as scissors, spoons, and forks. The goal here is not only problem-solving skills but also developing a sense of responsibility: knowing when something needs attention versus leaving it alone until more help is available.

  2. Sensorial

    Your child will learn to take notice of details like color, shape, and texture. They’ll also use their sense of smell, sound, and weight to gather important information about their world.

    There may be color tablets that your child can look at to learn the different hues and shades, or you can create ones from construction paper. Your child will manipulate objects in this room and learn shapes by feeling them.

  3. Language

    In a Montessori classroom in Cypress, TX, we teach children to speak clearly and distinctly as they learn new words and concepts. A language is a tool for learning and understanding the world around us, so we also teach our students how to listen carefully when someone else speaks—whether it be a story or even a simple sentence.

    We emphasize social interaction through language because this kind of interaction teaches children how to communicate with others appropriately; it teaches them how to take turns speaking without interrupting each other or being rude.

  4. Math

    It’s not just about developing skills but also about developing an appreciation for math and all its beauty, as well as understanding how to apply it to real-world situations, no matter your profession or career path, be in life.

  5. Culture

    This includes all aspects of human development, including art, music, science, language, and math. It also encompasses respect for others and their ideas, caring about the world around you, and understanding how people behave and why they behave that way. It also involves knowing how to work with others toward shared goals and developing a sense of pride in yourself as an individual who contributes to society as a whole.

Schedule an Appointment

Visit Lycee Montessori for more information about the learning method used.

Click to listen highlighted text!